Newag starts production of new trains for Warsaw

The plant of the Polish company Newag in Nowy Sącz has started the production of rolling stock in accordance with the contract for the supply of 21 modern trains for the Warsaw city high-speed railway SKM (Szybka Kolej Miejska). The new trains are designed to relieve traffic in the capital during rush hours. The first trains are expected to arrive in Warsaw in the spring of 2022, informs Railway Supply magazine citing information from Newag.

Newag starts production of new trains for Warsaw
Picture: www.newag.pl

A contract worth approximately PLN 668 million (EUR 148 million) was signed in 2020. Approximately 30% of the funds for its implementation will come from EU funds.

The new electric trains will be equipped with Wi-Fi, USB chargers, a modern passenger information system, ticket machines and defibrillators. Each railcar will be equipped with air conditioning and adapted to the needs of people with disabilities.

The new trains will have over 1,600 seats, which is about 60% more than all Elf and Impuls trains in the SKM fleet. During rush hours they will be launched in a coupler.

“The purchase of new trains for SKM is one of the elements of our environmental transport policy in Warsaw. Electric buses and low-emission buses are already running on the streets of the capital, and we are also waiting for the delivery of new metro and tram trains, ”said Warsaw Mayor Rafal Trzaskowski.

Related:

Newag will supply four hybrid Impuls II trains

Newag начал производство новых поездов для Варшавы

Предприятие польской компании Newag в Новом Сонче начало производство подвижного состава в соответствие с контрактом на поставку 21 современного поезда для варшавской скоростной городской железной дороги SKM (Szybka Kolej Miejska). Новые поезда призваны разгрузить столичный транспорт в часы пик. Ожидается, что первые составы прибудут в Варшаву весной 2022 года. Об этом сообщает железнодорожный журнал Railway Supply  cо ссылкой на информацию Newag.

производство поездов
Picture: www.newag.pl

Контракт на сумму около 668 млн злотых (148 млн евро) был подписан в 2020 году. Приблизительно 30% средств на его реализацию поступят из фондов ЕС.

Новые электропоезда оснастят Wi-Fi, USB-зарядными устройствами, современной системой информирования пассажиров, билетными автоматами и дефибрилляторами. Каждый вагон будет оборудован кондиционером и адаптирован к потребностям людей с ограниченными физическими возможностями.

В новых поездах будет более 1600 сидячих мест, что примерно на 60% больше, чем во всех поездах Elf и Impuls, находящихся сейчас в парке SKM. В часы пик их будут запускать в сцепке.

«Покупка новых поездов для SKM – один из элементов нашей экологической транспортной политики в Варшаве. Электробусы и автобусы с низким уровнем выбросов уже ходят по улицам столицы, также ждем поставок новых поездов метро и трамваев», – отмечает мэр Варшавы Рафал Трзасковски.

По теме:

Newag поставит четыре железнодорожных поезда с комбинированным ходом