A cargo terminal has been opened in Chernyakhovsk, Kaliningrad Region, for handling container transit traffic between China and Europe.

China - Europe cargo transit terminal opened in Kaliningrad

The East-West terminal is located near the border crossing between Zheleznodorozhny in Russia and Skandava in Poland and has a throughput of 450,000 TEU per year with transshipment capabilities between 1520 and 1435 mm gauge.

This is reported by the railway magazine Railway Supply  with reference to the Railway Gazette.

Russian Railways General Director Oleg Belorozov said that the volume of Eurasian rail traffic has increased sevenfold, and the terminal will provide additional capacity at a time when other border crossings, especially between Belarus and Poland, are running at their capacity.

The joint venture for transit cargo transportation UTLA ERA of the national railways of Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus predicts that in the medium term this section will become one of the most important junctions on the New Silk Road.

Camco Rail Portal

Speaking at the official opening on October 1, UTLA ERA CEO Alexei Grom said that 3% of rail freight traffic between Europe and China was handled in Kaliningrad in 2019, but in 2020 this figure increased to 8% and further growth is expected.

Grom explained that speed is becoming increasingly important in the freight market, and it is not only a matter of train traffic, but also quick decisions about servicing new directions and applying new technologies on the railroad.

“In August, we agreed on how we will work together with the new terminal,” he said. “And today, in just a month or so, we are serving the first two transit trains from China and Europe.”

Railway news you may have missed:

VR Capital’s comment on UZ statement concerning its debt to a foreign investor

Find the latest news of the railway industry in Eastern Europe, the former Soviet Union and the rest of the world on our page on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, read Railway Supply magazine online.

В Черняховске Калининградской области открыт грузовой терминал для обработки контейнерных транзитных перевозок между Китаем и Европой.

транзитный грузовой терминал

Терминал Восток-Запад находится недалеко от пограничного перехода между «Железнодорожный» в России и «Скандава» в Польше и имеет пропускную способность 450 000 TEU в год с возможностями перевалки между колеей 1520 и 1435 мм.

Об этом сообщает железнодорожный журнал Railway Supply cо ссылкой на Railway Gazette.

Генеральный директор РЖД Олег Белорозов сказал, что объем евразийских железнодорожных перевозок увеличился в семь раз, и терминал обеспечит дополнительную пропускную способность в то время, когда другие пограничные переходы, особенно между Беларусью и Польшей, работают на пределе их мощности.

Совместное предприятие по транзитным грузоперевозкам UTLA ERA национальных железных дорог России, Казахстана и Беларуси прогнозирует, что в среднесрочной перспективе этот участок станет одним из важнейших узловых пунктов на Новом шелковом пути.

Железнодорожный портал Camco Rail Portal

Выступая на официальном открытии 1 октября, генеральный директор UTLA ERA Алексей Гром сказал, что 3% железнодорожных грузоперевозок между Европой и Китаем было обработано в Калининграде в 2019 году, но в 2020 году этот показатель увеличился до 8% и ожидается дальнейший рост.

Гром объяснил, что скорость становится все более важной на рынке грузовых перевозок, и это не только вопрос движения поездов, но и быстрого принятия решений об обслуживании новых направлений и применении новых технологий на железной дороге.

«В августе мы договорились о том, как будем работать вместе с новым терминалом», — сказал он. «И сегодня, всего через месяц или около того, мы обслуживаем первые два транзитных поезда из Китая и Европы».

Железнодорожные новости, которые Вы могли пропустить:

Camco Technologies внедрит технологию Truck OCR на 4 терминалах DUSS

Узнавайте первыми самые свежие новости железнодорожной отрасли в Украине и мире на нашей странице в Facebook, канале в Telegram, читайте журнал Railway Supply онлайн.